Studying Psychology in Nepal


study-map-of-nepal, http://learnpsychologyonline.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/Learning-Psychology.jpg

i just read your blog and its really impressive. i wanna study psychology too in BA.  am interested in it , i’ve just join humanities at TU with subject nepali,english,  population n culture, now its time to fill up form for 1st year, so can i add psychology  subject too? can i study psychology even am not from science or humanities faculty  at +2? 

i recently visited your blog…and i was very interested reading the blog about psychology…i ve some queries abt too.. so please help me to acquire knowledge.i want to know

1 .what kind of programs or branches we we can study in the field of psychology?(in detail if you can in abroad and Nepal as well). I am a management student just cleared my bachelors in BBA. BUT  but also like to study psychology. i have a genuine interest in it.

2. How can i join for this particular subject?? i have heard abt Post Graduate in Psychological Counselling of one year.If i do that would i be eligible to join masters program in psychology or have to go for  bachelor again???or are there any other process?

I am about to Join MBA but also like to continue study of psychology side by side…Is it possible or some way relevant??or i can do my MBA and after 2 years i go for PSYCHOLOGY?????/

please please please response to mye queries soon as you can and suggest me …  will be very grateful. to you. 

hoping to hear from you soon …

Every month I receive a number of emails (like above) from young people seeking information on studying psychology in Nepal. I am often delighted to receive the emails and reply them with the best information I have. Incoming inquiries indicate an increasing interest among students to take up psychology as a major in their higher education and build their career in this field. This post covers overall educational levels in Psychology that are available in our country.

Psychology had not been a popular subject in the past. However, it is becoming a popular subject in Bachelors, Post-graduate and Masters Levels now. The changes in socio-cultural and political contexts have led to increasing interest in psychology in general.

Psychology as a discipline is taught under Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences in Tribhuvan University (TU). It is also offered by Higher Secondary Education Board (HSEB) in Intermediate (+2) level under Humanities and Education streams. Other universities in Nepal do not offer education and training in Psychology.

CORE ACADEMIC PROGRAMS

Intermediate (+2)

Psychology can be studied in (+2) Level after SLC under HSEB in private colleges. There are limited colleges which offer psychology as one of the major subjects under Humanities.

Bachelors (BA)

Students from any faculty (science, management, education) can choose to study psychology in BA. Students who have not taken up psychology previously can also study in BA. For most of the students, this level is an entry point for education in psychology field.

Masters (MA)

After BA, students can join MA to continue their education at Central Department of Psychology, TU. It is one and only psychology department so far which offers MA program in Nepal. Students are required to meet certain criteria for admission. They are admitted on first come first served basis because of limited seats. Students from Humanities (BA in psychology), Science, Nursing, Public Health, PGDPC, Social Work are eligible for admission. No entrance exams are held currently.

PhD/Post-doctoral

Tribhuvan University offers PhD in psychology as well. However, there are more students receiving PhD from aboard than Nepal. For post-doctoral level training, there is no place for it yet in Nepal.

OTHER ACADEMIC PROGRAMS

Psychology as a subject is also taught in other faculties such as Management, Nursing, Education, Military, Social Work, etc. as a part of the training in their specialization areas as required.

Post-graduate Diploma in Psychological Counseling (PGDPC)

PGDPC is a one-year specialization course in counseling approved by TU. Anybody is eligible (meeting minimum requirements) to enroll in this program. PGDPC program also acts as a bridge for interested students to study MA in psychology which otherwise could not be possible due to certain criteria required for MA.

MPhil in Clinical Psychology

It is another academic (more applied) program instituted and run at Department of Psychiatry and Mental Health. It is a two-year course which produces clinical psychologists in Nepal. The requirement for admission is MA in psychology.

 
Contact list for Institutions teaching Psychology in Nepal
 
The following Nepalese academic institutions offer psychology programmes in various levels.
Inside Kathmandu Valley Contact person Email
Tribhuvan University (TU) Shanta Niraula niraula@wlink.com.np
Tri Chandra Multiple Campus (TC) Narayan Prasad Sharma narayansha@gmail.com
Padma Kanya Campus (PK) Kavita Khati
Ratna Rajya Campus (RR) Shreejana  shrestha
K & KCollege Sanjesh shrestha shresthasanjesh@gmail.com
XavierAcademy Sanjesh shrestha shresthasanjesh@gmail.com
WhiteHouseCollege Ganga Pathak ganga_rimal@hotmail.com
BritishGorkhaCollege Renuka Rai
PyramidInternationalCollege Sandesh dhakal sdhakal961@gmail.com
CPSSC Shishir Subba shishirsubba21@gmail.com
Outside Kathmandu Valley
• Campuses in Janakpur,  Lahan, Biratnagar and Pokhara
*There might be more institutions not included here. Course fee varies according to the colleges.

51 thoughts on “Studying Psychology in Nepal

  1. sir i’m reading education faculty,can i join in psychology classes in BA?
    sir please mention the cost for study,
    i’m keen intrested student.

  2. dear sir,
    i am currently in 2nd year of my bachelor. but now i want to start studying bachelor in psychology, for which i may leave my current subject. i haven’t had any course on this field before. i have been keenly interested to this subject. i have done my +2 in science. how and where can i join? i will be glad if you answer my queries since i don’t know anyone in this field of study.

  3. Pingback: Admission Open for MA in Psychology « Sujen Man
  4. sr i m frm management faculty n i wanna join psychology. pleez inform me about cost n related educational institute. wat is a mentalist?

  5. sr i m frm management faculty n i wanna join
    psychology. pleez inform me about cost n
    related educational institute. wat is a mentalist?

    • Mentalist is a term that is used to refer someone who possess supernatural mental powers which she uses to perform amazing feats.

  6. Can a student having Bachelors of engineering study MA in Psychology ? If yes what would be the fee structure and course syllabus .

  7. i m MBBS passed doctor and have ken interest in psychology,, i want to do MA in general psychology ,,is it possible ? ifthen waht is syllabus for MA in psychology ? do i have to study other subject? thank you

  8. Pingback: Learning New Things | Our Studies
    • hello sir.I am planning to study psychology at Australia in bachelors,do you think its good to study in Australia then in Nepal.I have found that not many people are studying psychology and they are not interested in it.What do you think of me studying psychology in abroad?My name is Samip Adhikari.

      • Hi Samip, I am not well aware about situation of psychology in Australia so, I can tell you what would be better and why people are not keen to study.

  9. hello sir,
    i m a recent BBA graduate and recently i have developed a keen interest in Psychology.I want to do Masters in Psychology. Is it possible for me to do so?? Also, I want to study Psychology related to Business and Industry filed..is it available in Nepal??

    • Hi Upasana, u will have to do PGD in counseling to be able to join MA. Yes there is industrial psychology. All the best, sujen

  10. Hello!
    I m running in +2(SCIENCE).I m deadly interested in Psychology.Can i enter psychology after the completion of 12??if so,how can i??what i have to do??

  11. Cant we read psychology as a subject in bachelor as like bsc bba isn’t there any course like bachelor in psychology in Nepal?

  12. Hello, I was wondering about the fee structures for Bachelors in Psychology. I tried to search it up to no avail. It would be real nice if you let me know :)
    Also, there isn’t B. Sc Psychology in Nepal is there?
    If I were to want to become a psychiatrist, I read that I’d need to go to a medical school after bachelors (not necessarily in Nepal for me). Is B. Sc in Psychology is required or can I make do with a BA in Psychology?
    I’m doing A-levels right now in the Humanities field.

  13. hey,I’ve completed my +2 and planning to do my Bachelor’s.I am really interested to learn Psychology.So what should I choose in my Bachelor level(faculty or whatever) for me to study psychology? What should I go for? I hope you get my point…

  14. i just joint +2 in science . i am interasted to study psychology .plz give me some information about it and it scop in nepal. how much fee it will be cost in study in nepal

  15. Hello Sir!I am studying BBS but I want to change my faculty to R.D can I?Where as I am studying in BBS 2nd year please remind me can I or not??

  16. Hello Sir!I am Bibidh from Nepalgunj I am doing BBS I am in 2nd now I want to change my faculty so can change it or not?

  17. i have completed bachelor in business studies.can i study post graduate diploma in psychological counsellin?

  18. hello sir, I’ve recently finished by bachelor’s in business administration (bba-bi) and now I want to do my masters in Psychology. What are the procedures to apply for master’s in Psychology in Nepal as well as in abroad? Please reply to me soon so I can start the procedure as soon as i can. Can you tell me which colleges in Nepal provide masters study in Psychology? And do they allow undergraduates from BBA to do master’s in Psychology? If yes, than what are the procedures?

  19. sujen dai currently i am doing bachelor of education. i am on second year now.here we have to read educational psychology so after i complete my b.ed can i go toMA clinical psychology or should i do pgd in psychological counseling to do MA in clinical psychology.

  20. Sir,
    I am currently in bba 2nd year. I have keen interest in psychology. Is it possible in any way that i could enroll in bchlr in psychology without leaving bba?

Leave a Reply

