After 10 Years


It was back in 2000, my life took a turn and changed forever. A sad incident (at that time) fueled my passion for learning and achievement in life. I realized my interests in Psychology. It took me some time to take a decision to study it & develop my career as a psychologist, it happened after I formally started studying Psychology in Intermediate level after passing SLC in 2004. Looking back to that point of time, I realize I have come so far and I feel lucky to be where I am, and what I am today. Now, I have quite understood why I am on this path. At the start, it was not easy at all. It is not that easy even now. Anyway, I am happy with what I have been able to accomplish so far. There is a long way to go and after 10 years, I feel this is just a beginning!


In Nepal, the situation is really challenging. There are a lot of disappointments to face because of the system and structural context. Psychology in Nepal is still in its infancy though it has been many years it is being taught. However, there is a lot of scope for aspiring people who want to do something here though it is pretty tough and can be disorientating at times. My focus has been on research ever since I started working. I began my career at TPO Nepal in 2006, I am indebted to Brandon Kohrt, MD, PhD, Emory University for giving me a BIG break (and big thanks to Srijana Nakarmi who introduced me to him). I am engaged in research independently now with my own project and international collaborator. I am waiting to receive Master’s Degree in Psychology in 2011 and I look forward to working in interesting research projects in the days to come and to share my knowledge and develop my skills. I am also extremely grateful towards my parents and my close friends who have supported and trusted me throughout all these times. They have been a great source of inspiration and always reminds me:

“What matters is not to do remarkable things, but to do ordinary things with the conviction that their value is enourmous” -Chardin

Enhanced by Zemanta

2 thoughts on “After 10 Years

  1. Hi Sujen,
    I am so glad to have found your blog. I am from Nepal and currently an undergraduate student in psychology,in the United States.your blog has been very helpful in providing information about psychology in Nepal, which is something that I was always concerned about.
    .Thank you very much.

    1. Hi Tshyring,

      Good to hear from you. All the best with your studies there.

      Let’s keep in touch. keep visiting, you are welcome.

Leave a Reply

