Paper Presentation in Chautari Workshop-2012


I presented my research paper on ‘Historical Development of Psychology in Nepal’ in the workshop on ‘State of Psychology in Nepal’ jointly organized by Martin Chautari (MC) and Central Association of Psychology Students (CAPS), Tribhuvan University which was recently held on 12 February 2012 (29 Magh 2068). Before starting my presentation, I talked little bit about the background and what prompted me to conduct the research on history of psychology in Nepal. As a psychology student since 2004, I barely knew about the state of Nepalese psychology. I was very much interested in the works of Nepalese Psychologists but I had little information till 2007. So, in 2008, I spent almost a year gathering information and reading articles of expatriate psychologists who have done their work in Nepal online. I came across Robert Levine’s 1993 article which surprised me a lot. The situation reported there seemed to have been remained same since decades. I felt this field has been stuck somewhere in the past and I need to explore the history to help myself and interested young students like me to take it in a different course gradually. Then, in 2009, after joining Tribhuvan University for MA and reforming student council CAPS, I proposed a group project on History of Nepalese Psychology but it was difficult and did not work out. In 2010, I decided to take it forward as an individual project and write a paper based upon the research. It was not until 2011 that I came to know much about Dr. Panna Lal Pradhan, first Nepali who did PhD in psychology from Oregon University, US.

In my presentation, I gave detailed factual information about the historical development of Psychology in Nepal from 1940s to the present. My paper was focused upon the academic aspects of the discipline like the institutionalization of Psychology in various colleges at different points of time. I tried to acknowledge contributions made, to the best of my knowledge, who have done what and when so far for the development of psychology in Nepal. Many WHY questions were left unexplored due to lack of time. Regarding the problems, I commented, “One of the challenges facing psychology is lack of its professionalization and lack of unity on part of senior psychologists among many reasons. We must have a sense of urgency if we really want to develop this field, otherwise, it is hard to imagine how many years or decades it might take in future to see it progress.” No offense to my respected seniors but that is what the history tells.

I received the feedback from participants that my presentation was more based on facts and consisted little critical situation analysis. I agree to it. My work is in progress and am still writing it. Regarding critical analysis and presentation, it might be a risky business to do that since we have grown up in a culture where we ‘praise publicly, criticize privately’ (the same person). We still have not learnt to take feedback and criticism positively for our self-improvement and correction.

 

I also took the opportunity to share some of the historical pictures that I had collected during the course of my research work. Here it is for you too for your information.

History of Psychology in Nepal

I would like to thank all the people who have helped me in the research, esp.

Key Informants

  1. Ayan Bahadur Shrestha
  2. Murari Prasad Regmi
  3. Karuna Onta
  4. Mita Rana
  5. Ashok Kumar Jha
  6. Shakuntala Khatri
  7. Niranjan Upadhyay
  8. Shanta Niraula
  9. Pratibha Pradhan Shrestha
  10. Debrath Joshi (Sarvagya Sir’s son)

Off the record

  1. Narayan Prasad Sharma
  2. RP Sapkota
  3. Shishir Subba
  4. Sanjesh Shrestha
  5. Sarmoon Shakya
  6. Padmayan Shrestha
  7. Saraswati Shrestha
    (Sarvagya Sir’s spouse)
  8. Rita Shrestha

 

5 thoughts on “Paper Presentation in Chautari Workshop-2012

  1. Dear Sujen Jee,
    Congratulations with your presentation and your hounest acceptation for critics. It’s not allways easy. And indeed ‘praise publicly, criticize privately’, it’s very true. Next time I’d like to be present on this kind of occasions. Can you sent me an invitation in the future? I’m very interested in your work.
    Kindly and keep the good work up!!
    Inge

  2. congrats Sujen Da for your presentation…… there were praises and criticisms as well, i wasnt there but those are what shape us and i am proud to see that you have taken the pioneer step in unraveling our history …… i too wonder wat about nepal’s history when we were studying psychology history in US or England or Germany…… but i now know that there is someone who’s working toward that. Sujen Da if u ever need any help feel free to mention hai i will do my possibly best…… ^_^ all the best!!!!

    1. Thanks Sajani. am glad, it was helpful. i believe it is now time for young students like us to lead and develop our field with support of our seniors. stay in touch!!

Leave a Reply

