My Interest in Psychology


What got you interested in psychology??

academicAs I meet and interact with new people, one of the most asked question is ‘ what got you interested in psychology?’ I have answered it many times and now thought about posting it in my blog too.

As far as I can remember, it was during my school days that I came across few books that drew my attention towards Psychology. I was reading about powers of human mind, about sub-conscious mind, ESP (extra sensory perceptions), telepathy and a lot about parapsychology. It felt so wonderful and fascinating!! It made me ponder about HUMAN POTENTIAL by virtue of having this mind which enable us to accomplish a lot what sounds like unbelievable feats. So, I trace back my interests in Psychology to fascination with human mind and potential.

As I continued reading books, I had a lot of questions about human behavior. Fortunately, towards the end of my school, I had realized that if I wanted to find answers to the questions I had about human mind then, Psychology was the subject for me. There after, I started studying it formally in college and university (started to get bit dull and boring; the pressure to learn for exams is not that exciting we all know) and a lot more by myself (in order to keep the learning spirit alive). Now, it has been about a decade that I started my study of Psychology. As I look back, times have changed and the areas of interest have also changed with time. However, the theme has remained the same, the core of my interest: Human potential and psychological well-being.

Human potential to act good, be good, be creative, be intrinsically motivated about something, be happy and moreover, and to live a good & meaningful life rather than simply unbelievable feats. That is what I am more passionate about now. Psychology is a discipline that is fascinating and also helpful for oneself and others. It is very rewarding when it helps ourselves and also enable us to help others in need as this could lead to living a life out to fullest potential we can reach.

So, it’s your turn now to share if you are willing: What got you interested in psychology??

Leave a Reply

