4years-and-months

Finally, after 4 years 4 months, the time has come for me to close this circle and move on for the new one. I am very content to have my work successfully completed and I am looking forward for my new mission from next month.

Even before I joined ICRC, I was aware about the issue of disappearance in Nepal and the psychosocial aspects related to the families of the missing. In 2009, I had worked in a research project related to Missing persons and their families in Surkhet and I wrote about it on the occasion of Day of the Disappeared in 2010.

In 2012, when I joined ICRC, the pilot phase was coming to closure, and the first and second expansions were already rolling on. I worked for the first expansion districts covering three districts of Kathmandu Valley.

hateymalo-1

At the same time, we were also preparing for the launch of third expansion in 10 districts, I was engaged in assessment and the implementation of program in Dhading and Nuwakot in partnership with Nepal Red Cross Society district chapters.

hateymalo-3

In 2014, we finally rolled out the final/fourth expansion of the program, I was managing the program in Kavre, Sindhupalchwok and Ramechhap. I wrote about my experience after two years here.

hateymalo-4

After earthquakes in 2015, our team were engaged for psychological first aid response in affected districts both by training Red Cross Volunteers as well as providing services in the community.

IMG_5542

In 2015, I was supported for my participation in 11th Mental Health in Complex Emergencies (MHCE) course, organized by Institute of International Humanitarian Affairs (IIHA), Fordham University in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. Thanks to ICRC for that support.

Finally, this year, we have completed the program successfully and produced the dissemination materials. And at the last moment, we also had an opportunity to provide an brief orientation on psychosocial support for the staff of Commission of Investigation on Enforced Disappeared Persons of Nepal and we are hopeful they will consider the importance of psychosocial aspects while helping the families of the missing in their future work.

I would like to dedicate this photo book to my ICRC colleagues and working team (NRCS district focal persons, accompaniers, and program supervisors): ICRC-photo-memoirs.compressed and also would like to thank them all for their support and cooperation.

dsc01088

Leave a Reply

